Iconic inspiration, paranoia and insecurity

Blog has fallen behind due to travels, delays and deadlines – not to mention stress and insecurity. Normal service will resume in my next post which will be about summer adventures, but meanwhile here are some self-indulgent musings.

I found this Marilyn Monroe quote on Twitter.

‘I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.’

A wonderful mixture of humility and confidence.

Inspirational people commonly admit that they shine the brightest only on a good day, when they are at their best – and that they have off days too. Like a lot of creative people, I’m full of self doubt and when things don’t go smoothly, I feel insecure and worry that the people who matter most to me will lose confidence/interest.

The nature of paranoia is that you can never be certain. Philip K. Dick was clinically paranoid – but he was also being followed by the FBI

The photos that usually accompany Marilyn Monroe quotes tend to be movie stills or promotional shots. A print of this photograph by Bill Stern – Marilyn Monroe, from (Crucifix III) The Last Sitting, 1962 –  was sold last year by Christies for $18,750. It was taken six weeks before her suicide and she drew a cross on it, not because of a dark premonition, but simply because she disliked what has since become an iconic image.

So how do we know when we shine brightest?

As Robert Burns put it, ‘O would some power the giftie gie us to see ourselves as others see us’.

D5304357l_marilyn_monroe_crucifix_iii_the_last_sitting

 

Leave a Reply

